Festival of the Arts in Laguna Beach

I just got back from a 2 day stay in the OC, specifically to see the Pageant of the Masters with my sister which we did as children. It never ceases to amaze me. For those of you who don’t know what the Pageant is, that partly doesn’t surprise me because even though it’s been around since the 1930’s, it’s such a small venue and you really have to make an effort to drive down there, get tickets, etc… But for those of you who don’t know of the Pageant makes me wonder if you live under a rock. In all seriousness, this is a 6 week festival every summer for lovers of art to enjoy a live show in a beautiful outdoor amphitheater (much more intimate than the Hollywood Bowl or the Greek).  The best way to describe what it is,  I’ve copied from their website:

Ninety minutes of “living pictures” – incredibly faithful art re-creations of classical and contemporary works with real people posing to look exactly like their counterparts in the original pieces. An outdoor amphitheater, professional orchestra, original score, live narration, intricate sets, sophisticated lighting, expert staff, and hundreds of dedicated volunteers have won recognition for the Pageant as the best presentation of its kind.

The entire show is based on a theme, this year it was “Eat, Drink and be Merry”.

Lindsay’s favorite photo was from Swedish watercolor artist Carl Larsson from 1900.  My favorite photo was by American artist George Caleb Bingham from 1877-1878

On Viking Expedition, Carl Larsson

The Jolly Flatboatmen, Geroge Caleb Bingham

Overall we had a great 2 days. Dinner before the show at Nirvana Grille, which came highly recommended and has one of the most fabulous menus I had ever seen. This morning I showed Lindsay The Montage, Pelican Hill Resort, we had brunch at Zinc cafe/market in Corona Del Mar and then walked around Balboa Island. A full tour of most of the OC.

I highly recommend you see the Pageant of the Masters for a true California experience one summer. I think going every 2-3 years is perfectly fine.

Comments

  1. I think once is more than enough. I did it years ago and have absolutely no desire to see it again. Same for the Rose Bowl Floats-once is enough. Glad you enjoyed it Lauren. Did you go to the Sawdust Festival? That I have gone to at least two times. 🙂

  2. Elaine Diamond says:

    I’ve been to the pageant a number of times and always enjoyed it – a special summer treat while my mom lived in Laguna Beach. It’s been years since I’ve gone but glad that you and Lindsey also liked it. Agree with Madge about the Sawdust Festival.

Thank you for commenting on my post!

