Dragon, Fire and a Hornet’s Nest…

In case you have lived in a bubble and don’t see the NY Times, ever walk by a Borders or Barnes and Noble, I find it hard to believe there are still people out there who haven’t heard about Stieg Larsson and his trilogy of FABULOUS BOOKS! This trilogy will have you as hooked as Twilight, I think.

Photo Credit: Amazon

I read the first two, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, based on my grandmother’s recommendation and was hooked. Next I read The Girl who Played with Fire. While waiting for the 3rd one to come out, I went to see both Swedish movies at Westside Pavillion. It was incredible to see the books come to life in front me as I had pictured each character in my mind while reading them. The sub-titles didn’t bother me one bit..I was so into it and the girl who played Lisbeth was bad ass.

It wasn’t until this weekend that I finally had a moment to start the third book, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. I have to say that it is so nice to sit down and read a book that you don’t want to put down. I found myself skimming to see how long each chapter was afraid that if I kept reading my lamp would keep David up.

So it seems that the US version of this trilogy is in pre-production at Sony with a release date of December 21, 2011. THAT IS FOREVER AWAY!!!  It seems possible that Daniel Craig will play Mikael Blomkvist (not set in stone) and it’s rumored that the likes of Ellen Page or Mia Wasikowska could play Lisbeth Salander, which would be the role of a lifetime. David Fincher will direct, having also directed The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, which I loved. Steve Zaillian is writing the screenplay, having previously written American Gangster, Gangs of New York and Schindler’s List (just to name a few of my fav).

I can’t wait… and if you haven’t read the books, what is wrong with you?

Comments

  1. I read all three books and loved them. The first movie was terrific. I have not seen the second because I heard it wasn’t that great. I can’t imagine that the USA versions would top the movies in Swedish. The first movie was so good and the characters looked like they were in the books.

Trackbacks

  1. […] 28, 2010 by laurenravitz For those of you Stieg Larsson fans like me who read my post back in July, fear not, the third movie is due out this weekend! This is most intricate of plots […]

Thank you for commenting on my post!

