SEQUINS ARE IN FOR FALL

I happened to be in Santa Monica today and went to the new Santa Monica Place mall which I’ve been wanting to go to for a few weeks. I didn’t have time to really walk around, eat there or take it all in. It’s not 100% functional yet with many stores opening next month, but they are getting there. I fought my way through the crowds to find the not so obvious entrance to Nordstrom, which is FABULOUS and 122,000 square feet of luxurious deliciousness. I just didn’t know that today was their official opening day. Amongst the sea of friendly sales people I found tons of exclusive merchandise no other Nordstrom carries that was shipped in just for the Santa Monica Store. Although I love the tomato soup at Nordstrom Cafe they have Blue Stove Restaurant instead, which serves small plates & tapas-style food. It looked really good, but the wait was 45 minutes long, so that didn’t work for me.

What I mainly noticed was how sequins are EVERYWHERE! And although sequines usually remind me of my old tap dance costumes, there were some really great mannequins showing off some cool wearable looks:

Sequin Displays at Norstrom, Santa Monica Place

With all the goodies I got, the BEST thing I got was this amazing handbag, that when I picked up thought for sure cost $2,000. This is one of the items the Santa Monica store got in exclusively because I couldn’t find it on their website or anywhere else online. The leather looked so supple, the color was the perfect cocoa I love, the chain was a great gold:

I look down in the bag at the price and thought they had mismarked it. This bag, by a company called Deux Lux, was only $158!!!!!! Sold. And I don’t feel guilty about it for one second. (Sorry David.)   🙂

Comments

  1. I had no idea you were such a shopper. I hate sequins as they remind me of cheapness and are usually goddy. Love your blog even though I probably won’t visit any of your sites as not my thing.

  2. Love it! I want one! At my age, I can’t pull off the sequins, but the bag — that I can do.

  3. Love love this bag..what a great find!!!

Thank you for commenting on my post!

