Word on our street about Street…

So last night we went out with our friends (and neighbors Adam and Allison) to Street way on the other side of town. I had heard good things and wanted to try it, but we went mainly because we had 30% off from Blackboard Eats, I will not tell a lie. I knew it was a mish mosh of ‘street food’ from Thai to Chinese to Indian and everything in between. (I must also admit I have never even had street food, not even the cut up fruit they sell in front of Cedars Sinai.) The crowd was definitely young and full of hipsters. We got the prime booth in the back, allowing us to watch all the mixing at work at the bar and the people coming in off the street, Highland Avenue that is.

Now, I’m all about sharing and trying new things, so when the waiter suggested 10 ‘small plates’ to share, I was like a kid in a candy store. I had watched Susan Feniger on several past Top Chef episodes and knew that she had drawn much of the inspiration for her cooking from traveling…so up my alley. So Allison and I started to divvy up what we wanted from each section of the menu. It was a piece of cake, we had decided in less than 2 minutes. Our selections included: Lamb Kafta Meatballs over warm Syrian cheese, Vegetable Dumplings, Baby Back Ribs in spicy Korean miso glaze, Fried Chicken marinated with soy, mirin, & sake crispy fried in rice batter, Brussel sprouts with apples, hazelnuts, & goat cheese, Beets with an aged sherry vinegar & grain mustard vinaigrette, Saag paneer & Dal and Soba Noodles.

One of the highlights for us was the Singapore Kaya Toast, a classic on their menu. This yummy grilled cheese like sandwich cut into 4 perfect bite size pieces consisted of thick coconut jam on Malaysian white toast served with a soft fried egg drizzled in dark soy sauce and dusted with white pepper. The sweetness of the coconut jam with the dark soy sauce was like butter in my mouth. SO GOOD!The four of us loved our meal, I liked every single choice we made….I would definitely go back again. It was packed so a reservation is a must.

Thank you for commenting on my post!

