Kitchen Tips from Martha

Normally I love Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food magazine. I have so many favorite recipes in there. And even though I don’t love her Martha Stewart Living magazine, ever so often I do get a really great tip that makes me think my yearly subscription is worth it.

Today was the day!

She suggested freezing leftover liquids in ice cube trays or muffin tins and popping the cubes into freezer bags for premeasured portions when you need them later on. I’m sure some of you do this, but I don’t. And I can’t tell you how many times I have just a little bit of chicken broth left over I end up throwing away because I didn’t know any better!

You can do this with egg whites (when a recipe calls for yokes), wine, broth, juice etc… A typical cube is about two tablespoons. Even though I have an automatic ice dispenser, this makes me want to head to Bed and Bath and buy an ice cube tray tomorrow.

Thank you for commenting on my post!

